National Resources. A federal Administrative Officer serves at each of the following Territorial centres: Fort Smith, Aklavik, Hay River and Yellowknife. The seat of government is at Ottawa.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

(AS AT SEPT. 7, 1954)

Commissioner R. G. Robertson

Deputy Commissioner. . . . F. J. G. CUNNINGHAM

Members of the Council-*

Appointed...... Louis de la C. Audette, W. I. Clements, Jean Boucher, F. J. G. Cunningham, L. H. Nicholson

Elected...... Frank Carmichael, J. W. Goodall, Robert C. Porritt,
John Parker

Officers of the Council-

Secretary..... R. BOUCHARD Legal Adviser..... Wm. Nason

Section 3.—Municipal Government[†]

The earliest local government in Canada was carried out by the seigneurs of New France who bore, along with military command and the administration of justice, the responsibilities of appointing justices of the peace and clerks of roads. Some of these officers were soon replaced by a 'syndic' elected by the people, the first in 1644, though a mayor and two aldermen had held office briefly in the city of Quebec in 1643. When the syndics fell into disuse, their powers were delegated by the Governor to officials. The City of Quebec was incorporated in 1832, and the system of local government for the province decreed in 1840 was later remodelled by Acts of 1845, 1847, 1850 and 1860.

In the Atlantic Provinces, Saint John, N.B., had attained the distinction of becoming Canada's first incorporated city in 1785. Incorporation of Halifax, N.S., came in 1841 and Charlottetown, P.E.I., in 1855. In Newfoundland, St. John's was created a town in 1888.

The Ontario Parish and Town Officers Act of 1793 provided for an annual meeting in a parish or township to appoint local officers responsible to Parliament and the courts, but the meetings had no law-making powers. Brockville, in 1832, gained from the Governor in Council some local powers that had previously been exercised through the courts. In 1834, York was incorporated as the self-governing City of Toronto. The Municipal Act of 1849 became the foundation of the local government in Ontario and later provided a model for the western provinces. Subsequently, Acts have been passed in all provinces governing aspects of municipal incorporation, powers and duties. Constitutional provision that jurisdiction over municipal affairs would rest with the provinces has resulted, quite naturally, in dissimilarity in the organization of local government across the country. stems not only from the difference in beginnings and subsequent independent growth in each province, but also from variations in requirements arising out of geographical and population differences.

^{*} Following dissolution of the Council on June 30, 1954, the five appointed members were reappointed on July 1, 1954. General elections for the four elected members were held on Sept. 7, 1954. † Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.